More to Marshmallows Than Meets The Eye
How much do you know about marshmallows?
We’ve spent hours, days, months, and probably close to a few years thinking about the perfect marshmallow.
Many people don’t even realize these delicious clouds of dreamy sweetness are not actually vegetarian.
Not only are Funky Mello marshmallows VEGAN but they also happen to be free of toxins and we're SUPER proud of that!
Although small, there's more to marshmallows than meet the eye.
A treat fit for royalty
Marshmallows actually go waaayyy back in history! Ancient Egyptians were the first to enjoy this gooey treat as early as 2000 BC.
They made it by mixing sap from the mallow plant with nuts and honey. And this glorious creation was so special, it was reserved for gods and royalty.
The French were introduced to marshmallow in the early to mid-1800s. When candy makers were looking for a new process to make marshmallows they created marshmallow molds made of modified cornstarch and replaced the mallow root with gelatin which created the marshmallow stable form.
Marshmallows were introduced and popularized in the United States in the early 1900s and became extremely popular in a variety of food recipes.
The present-day marshmallow
Today, most marshmallows contain gelatin, carrageenan, or artificial flavors. None of which are yummy in our opinion.
- Gelatin is a translucent, colorless, flavorless food ingredient, derived from collagen taken from animal body parts.
- Carrageenan is a common food additive extracted from red seaweed that can cause inflammation, digestive problems, and even colon cancer.
Try the perfect marshmallow
You deserve all the awesomeness and deliciousness that come with marshmallows without any animal-derived ingredients or carcinogens.
Enjoy the spectacular taste of simple ingredients in Funky Mello vegan marshmallows! Made in Austin, Texas, with love. <3